Vibrant ceremony held to close ICF Cup Delhi 2015

A colorful ceremony has marked the ending of the 7th ICF Cup – Delhi 2015 which was held in Thyagaraj Sports Complex, New Delhi, India.
The competition saw the men’s singles title won Riyaz Akbar Ali of India who defeated the World Champion Nishantha Fernando of Sri Lanka in straight sets. He also lifted the men’s doubles titles with Sandeep Deorukhar by defeating Yogesh Pardeshi and K. Srinivas in the thrilling doubles final of the tournament. His individual two gold medals and the team championship gold made him the only Triple Crown player in the tournament. World Cup winner K. Srinivas got 3rd place by beating Sandeep Deroukhar.

The women’s first, second and third place was also won by the Indian team. Women singles title was lifted by young Kajal Kumari who defeated Tuba Sehar in the final. World Champion Rashmi Kumari won the 3rd place in the singles event.

The Indian pair, Rashmi Kumari and Tuba Sehar, secured the champion title by winning in the doubles final match played with yet another Indian pair, Kajal Kumari and Debajani Tamuly.

In the team championship event, players from 9 countries took part in, including India, Sri Lanka, Maldives, UK, France, Switzerland, Poland, Bangladesh, and Sweden. While India gained first place for women’s and men’s championship team event, Sri Lanka effectively took second place. Bangladesh attained third place for men’s team event and Maldives gained third place for women’s team event.

From the competition, the Swiss League championship was attained by Sandeep Deroukhar from India. The second place was obtained by K. Srinivas of the Indian team and third place was achieved by the Srilankan team member, Nishantha Fernando. A total of 45 players took part in the Swiss League in which the players play with one another for 7 rounds.

A total of 19 slams were scored in the tournament by 10 players from 5 different countries.

Trophies and medals were presented to the winners by Guest of Honor, Joint Secretary, Ministry of Sports, and President of ICF, Mr. Josef Meyer, Secretary General of ICF, Mr. Mohamed Saeed. Senior Officials of All India Carrom Federation and Delhi Carrom Association were present at the closing ceremony.

Find the rankings here.

Watch the Men’s Single Final here.

Mohamed Saeed
Secretary General

About ICF

The International Carrom Federation (ICF) is an association governed by Swiss law founded in 1988 in Chennai, India. 

The key focus of the ICF is the governance and administration of Carrom worldwide by leading, developing and promoting Carrom around the globe.